P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:20/00   1/7      THE 1986 MARLBORO/  AUTOSPORT/RAC NATIONAL  RALLY SERIES BEGINS  ON FEBRUARY 8..   ...A CHAMPIONSHIP  P EVIEWFOLLOWS             
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:20/00   2/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Leading entries in the Skip Brown Rally, start of the 1986 series: 1 Lovell/Davies Ford RS200 2 Llewellin/Short Metro 6R4 3 Rutherford/Harris Metro 6R4 4 Edwards/Morgan Escort 4wd 5 K Wood/Brown Metro 6R4 6 Collins/Freeman Sierra Coswort— 7 Cannon/Beacon Nissan 240RS 8 A Wood/Nicholson Opel Manta 400 9 Slights/Naylor Escort RS 10 Lymburn/Hutchinson Escort RS  Sport Index 130 More
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:01/00   3/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The Skip Brown Rally will provide the proverbial cliff-hanging start to the 1986 Marlboro National Championship. Not only does the rally begin with the tarmac stages along the cliff-edge near Llandudno, but its top 10 reads like a Who's Who of British rallying. No Russell Brookes or Jimmy McRae, perhaps: but the biggest-ever entry of nearly 100 crews includes the 1984 and 1985 National champions. Mark Lovell goes in a Ford RS200, with top competition from Dai Llewellin in one of several Metro 6R4s. 
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:02/01   4/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Success in the National c——lpionship has brought factory backing for both Mark Lovell and Dai Llewellin. Lovell contests the Skip Brown in a "production" version of the brilliant new Ford RS200, rather than the full- blown Group B model the Axbridge driver will campaign in the Open series. Llewellin, after a year of Audis, joins the Austin Rover Group fold in a Metro 6R4 - just one of the many. Willie Rutherford, who pushed Lovell so close last year, and twice Scottish champion Ken Wood also take Metros out into the Welsh forests on Saturday.
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:00/11   5/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Last year's Lombard RAC Rally was a decisive moment in the career of 26- year-old Andrew Wood from Melrose. A leading member of the British Junior team, Andrew pulled out a superb drive in a Group A Astra and sets out on the National trail in an Opel Manta 400. Andrew is clear-sighted enough to know the four-wheel-drive brigade should have the upper hand, but reliability is the name of the Manta game... The top 10 for the Skip Brown takes in tarmac king Phil Collins and the brutal 4wd Escort of Allan Edwards, but Group A might provide the weekend fireworks.
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:23/08   6/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The 1985 Group A champion Simon Davison is rewarded with a Volkswagen Golf GTi for this year's series. The North-East driver heads a team with the incentive of works backing for the 1986 Lombard RAC for whoever does best on the eight-part National series. Main competition comes from 1985 Astra Challenge winner Tony Saddington in an Astra GTE, with Kenyan student Sanjiv Shah going all out for honours in the ex-Per Eklund Toyota Celica Supra. Also in there is 1985 Nova Junior Cup winner Chris Birkbeck, so Group A could be the toughest of the lot.
P239 CEEFAX 239 Fri 7 Feb 19:25/17   7/7      NATIONAL RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The Skip Brown Rally gets under way at Llandudno's Imperial Hotel at 0900 on Saturday, with the finish due at the same place at 1900. Spectator points: GREAT ORME First car 0905 PENMACHNO 1015/1530 (via A5/B4406 to village: follow arrows) MAESGWM 1155/1420 (by Dolgefeiliar Bridge on A470) CLOCAENOG 1700 (via B5105) CEEFAX will provide fastest up-dates of the top 10 and incident reports, with a rally round-up on Saturday evening.